City Lights- Chinese Night Market 2008

Heather Bissonnette brings us to Vancouver’s Chinatown to check out the local night market. Right in the center of Chinatown, not only are there good deals to be had on a range of products from hand-crafted bags, clothing, jewelry and ornaments, there are many stalls with second hand items that can quell your bargain hunting urges, things that can’t be found in the boutique stores.  You can search for treasures, buy a lucky bamboo for you or your friends, guaranteed to bring you health and wealth, and then eat from the endless stalls of ethnic foods, have some bubble tea to wash it all down with.

“What do you like about the night market?” Heather asks one of the local stall workers. “It’s fun,” she replies, ” It gives me something to do for the whole summer. I don’t like to be stuck on the same thing, the same job, for the whole summer. This is also a family business, I come to help out here…it’s quite fun to do.”

There are also events; singing, dancing, magic shows, martial arts, bands, and games and prizes. The Vancouver Chinatown Night Market claims to be the first of its kind in North America, so when the nights are warm enough, be sure to come down and explore this feast for the senses. The Vancouver Chinatown Night Market runs from May 15th through to September 6th in 2009, on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights.  Visit the website, www.vcma.shawbiz.ca for more information.

images

One Comment

  1. Posted February 27, 2009 at 11:01 pm | Permalink

    I have never seen the City Lights nor do I know much about the nightlife here, I did not know about it until I read your article. It looks interesting, I have only been living in Vancouver for 3 years..I guess I have some catching up to do!
    -Mihaela
    http://beautyofbc.wordpress.com/


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

