Novus Free Talk-Victoria Day

May long weekend is coming!! Let’s get excited. With a false Spring showing its face, I think I speak for all of us when I say we are eagerly anticipating the real thing. Victoria Day has always been the jumping off spot for the onslaught of warm weather and here we look at what Vancouverites had to say about last year’s May long weekend holiday.

“Our city has a lot to offer. Honestly, I’m not originally from here and like, six years ago I came here on holidays and I just don’t think there’s anywhere else that’s as nice as Vancouver really,” says one lady who recently made this city home.

With the harbour and all its water options, Stanley Park, Granville Island, and the beaches such as Kitsilano and English Bay close at hand, there are many many options for you and your crew to explore under the first warm sun. But why the holiday in the first place? How many of us know the reason behind the day off of work? Erin Ireland put this question to a few of the people we interviewed and here is sample of some of the answers. If you don’t know the reason behind Victoria Day, watch the video for Erin’s answer at the end. 

“That means, I guess, that if you’re from Victoria you get…I dunno! It’s a stat. holiday so I’m stoked!” 

“I believe there are a couple reasons. Maybe, Queen Victoria, it might be Victoria being the name of the capital of BC…”

“I dunno. The queen? I really don’t know. I’ve lived here all my life, and I’ve been a Canadian all my life, and I have no idea.” 

Perhaps you can fare better.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

